Anaerobic Microbiology

Anaerobes thrive in diverse environments such as the gastrointestinal tracts of humans and many animals, flooded soils, sediments, subsurface aquifers, and extremely hot or salty habitats. Metabolically, anaerobes catalyze reactions that are critical to the global cycling of carbon and other elements, biofuel production, waste treatment, and environmental clean up. The anaerobic way of life involves novel reactions such as reductive dechlorination and carboxy or fumarate addition to hydrocarbons. Another defining feature of the anaerobic way of life is that a consortium of interacting microbial species rather than a single microbial species serves as the catalytic unit for anaerobic metabolism. We are interested in characterizing novel anaerobic metabolisms, discovering novel taxa and physiologies, understanding the diversity and structure of anaerobic ecosystems, determining the regulatory mechanisms controling the anaerobic way of life and the establishment of multispecies consortia, and developing novel technologies for energy production, waste treatment and environmental clean up

Anaerobic Microbiology Faculty

 

Amy V. Callaghan

Amy V. Callaghan
Associate  Professor
Microbiology

acallaghan@ou.edu
405-325-1872
GL Cross 713

Systems Biology of Anaerobic Hydrocarbon Metabolism
Irene DavidovaIrene Davidova
Research Assistant Professor

davidova@ou.edu
405-325-3771
GL Cross 228

Microbiology of Anaerobic Degradation
Kathleen DuncanKathleen Duncan
Research Assistant Professor
Kathleen.E.Duncan-1@ou.edu
405-325-6927
SEC 558
Molecular Microbial Ecology, Petroleum Microbiology
Anne K. Dunn

Anne K. Dunn
Chair

Associate Professor  Microbiology

akdunn@ou.edu
405-325-6302
GL Cross 712

Marine Molecular Microbiology, Physiology, and Symbiosis
Elizabeth Karr

Elizabeth Karr
Associate Professor
Microbiology

 

lizkarr@ou.edu
405-325-5133
SRTC 2021/516 GL Cross

 

Gene Expression in Archaea
Lee R. Krumholz

Lee R. Krumholz
Professor
Microbiology

krumholz@ou.edu
405-325-0437
GL Cross 616

Microbial Ecology and Physiology

Paul A. Lawson
Professor
Microbiology

paul.lawson@ou.edu
405-325-4426
GL Cross 813

Microbial Systematics, Gut Microbiology, Biocorrosion, Biofuels
Michael J. McInerney

Michael J. McInerney
Professor Microbiology

mcinerney@ou.edu
405-325-6798
GL Cross 136/328

Anaerobic Microbial Physiology, Syntrophy, Oil Recovery
Bradley S. Stevenson

Bradley S. Stevenson
Associate Professor
Microbiology

Bradley.Stevenson@ou.edu
405-325-5970
GL Cross 815

Microbial Ecology, Cultivation of Novel Microorganisms, Biocorrosion, Biofuels
Joseph M. Suflita

Joseph M. Suflita
Professor
Microbiology

jsuflita@ou.edu
405-325-5761
GL Cross 327 

Biodegradation and Biocorrosion
Ralph S. Tanner

Ralph S. Tanner
Professor
Microbiology

rtanner@ou.edu
405-325-1647
GL Cross 716

 Biofuels
Boris Wawrik

Boris Wawrik
Associate Professor
Microbiology

bwawrik@ou.edu
405-325-8596
GL Cross 714

Microbial Ecosystems Science