Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Ecology and Evolutionary Biology

Ecology investigates the relationships living organisms have with each other and with their physical environment. Evolution is a unifying theme of biology that is inextricably linked to ecology. It investigates how mutation, selection, and other factors shape organisms and their interactions with the environment. Microbiologists and plant biologists within the department study ecology and evolution at molecular, ecosystem, and planetary levels, investigating events that occur over a short period of time or over millions of years. Faculty expertise covers a broad range of fields that include ecosystem dynamics, climate change, conservation, taxonomy, systematics, physiology, and ethnobotany.


Ecology and Evolutionary Biology Faculty

 

Amy V. Callaghan

Amy V. Callaghan
Associate Professor
Microbiology

acallaghan@ou.edu
405-325-1872
GL Cross 713

Systems Biology of Anaerobic Hydrocarbon Metabolism
Anne K. Dunn

Anne K. Dunn
Associate Professor

Chair
Microbiology

akdunn@ou.edu
405-325-6302
GL Cross 712

Marine Molecular Microbiology, Physiology, and Symbiosis
J. Phil Gibson

J. Phil Gibson
Associate Professor
Plant Biology

jpgibson@ou.edu
405-325-1792
Richards Hall 406

Plant Evolutionary Ecology, Science Education
Elizabeth Karr

Elizabeth Karr
Associate Professor
Microbiology

 

lizkarr@ou.edu
405-325-5133
SRTC 2021/516 GL Cross

 

Gene Expression in Archaea
Lee R. Krumholz

Lee R. Krumholz
Professor
Microbiology

krumholz@ou.edu
405-325-0437
GL Cross 616

Microbial Ecology and Physiology

Paul A. Lawson
Professor
Microbiology

paul.lawson@ou.edu
405-325-4426
GL Cross 813

Microbial Systematics, Gut Microbiology, Biocorrosion, Biofuels

Heather McCarthy
Associate Professor
Plant Biology

heather.mccarthy@ou.edu
405-325-7793
GL Cross 149

Global Change and Urban Ecology

Abigail Moore
Herbarium Curator
Assistant Professor
Plant Biology
abigail.j.moore@ou.edu 
405-325-5923
GL Cross 208
Plant diversification and phylogenomics

Krithivasan Sankaranarayanan
Assistant Professor
Microbiology
ksankar@ou.edu
405-325-####
SRTC
Microbial ecology, biogeography, and evolution; Human microbiome; Hypersaline environments; Bioinformatics; Ancient DNA
Lara Souza
Assistant Professor
Plant Biology
lara.souza@ou.edu
405-325-6057
SC 150
Plant Ecology and Global Change Biology
Bradley S. Stevenson

Bradley S. Stevenson
Associate Professor
Microbiology

Bradley.Stevenson@ou.edu
405-325-5970
GL Cross 815

Microbial Ecology, Cultivation of Novel Microorganisms, Biocorrosion, Biofuels
Joseph M. Suflita

Joseph M. Suflita
Professor
Microbiology

jsuflita@ou.edu
405-325-5761
GL Cross 327 

Biodegradation and Biocorrosion
Boris Wawrik

Boris Wawrik
Associate
Professor
Microbiology

bwawrik@ou.edu
405-325-8596
GL Cross 714

Microbial Ecosystems Science
Xiangming Xiao

Xiangming Xiao
Professor
Plant Biology

xiangming.xiao@ou.edu
405-325-8941
SRTC 2107

Remote Sensing, Ecosystem Modeling
Jizhong Zhou

Jizhong Zhou
Professor
Microbiology

jzhou@ou.edu
405-325-6073
SRTC

 Microbial Ecology and Genomics