Plant Biology

Because photosynthetic organisms are the primary producers for natural and agricultural ecosystems, Plant Biology provides critical data to solve global problems such as biofuel development, food plant improvement, climate change effects, and biodiversity conservation. To address these issues in a research setting, plant scientists have varied research specializations including structure and ultrastructure, growth and development, genetics and genomics, reproduction and classification, and ecology and evolution. The scientific study of plants also occurs at multiple scales from molecules and cells to individual organisms, and from populations and communities to landscapes and ecosystems. Plant Biology is a vibrant and exciting discipline with many research and employment opportunities.


Plant Biology Faculty


Laura Bartley
Associate Professor
Plant Biology

lbartley@ou.edu
405-325-1653
GL Cross 150

Plant Cell Wall Biology

J. Phil Gibson
Associate Professor
Plant Biology

jpgibson@ou.edu
405-325-1792
Richards Hall 406

Plant Evolutionary Ecology, Science Education

 Mariëlle Hoefnagels
Associate Professor
Microbiology & Plant Biology
  

hoefnagels@ou.edu
405-325-5705
GL Cross 224

 

Science Education

Ben F. Holt III
Assistant Professor
Plant Biology

 

benholt@ou.edu
405-325-9018
GL Cross 219

 

Plant Development, Responses to Hormones and Stress

Sharon Kessler
Assistant Professor
Plant Biology

sakessler@ou.edu
405-325-5085
223 GL Cross

Signaling in Plant Reproductive Development

Marc Libault
Assistant Professor
Plant Biology

libaultm@ou.edu
405-325-6516
GL Cross 32

Plant Cell Response to Stresses

Yiqi Luo
Professor
Plant Biology

yluo@ou.edu
405-325-1651
SRTC 1160

Global Change Biology, Biogeochemistry, Plant Ecology, Ecological Modeling

Heather McCarthy
Assistant Professor
Plant Biology

heather.mccarthy@ou.edu
405-325-7793
GL Cross 149

Global Change and Urban Ecology

Abigail Moore
Herbarium Curator
Assistant Professor
Plant Biology
abigail.j.moore@ou.edu 
405-325-5923
GL Cross 208
Plant Biology

Scott D. Russell
Professor
Plant Biology

srussell@ou.edu
405-325-4391
EML 210

Molecular Biology of Plant Reproduction

Susan J. Schroeder
Assistant Professor
Plant Biology & Microbiology

susan.schroeder@ou.edu
405-325-3092
GL Cross 028

Viral RNA Structure and Function
Lara Souza
Assistant Professor
Plant Biology
lara.souza@ou.edu
405-325-6057
SC 150
Plant Ecology and Global Change Biology

Gordon E. Uno
Professor
Plant Biology

guno@ou.edu
405-325-6281
GL Cross 151

Science Education and
Plant Reproductive Biology

Xiangming Xiao
Professor
Plant Biology

xiangming.xiao@ou.edu
405-325-8941
SRTC 2107

Remote Sensing, Ecosystem Modeling

 

Contact Us
Phone 405-325-4321
770 Van Vleet Oval

Norman, OK 73019
136 George Lynn Cross Hall
Hours: 8:00 am - 
5:00 pm M-F           Closed For Lunch 12:00 - 1:00
Directions

Follow us on Facebook